Hip-hop underground kings Run the Jewels have finally announced their new full-length RTJ3, due January 13.

The announcement comes after stoking the flames of fan anticipation with campaign-trail stumping, a couple of singles and leaked tour dates, and even a video game appearance.

The first taste of RTJ3 is a brand-new banger called “Legend Has It” and a tracklist teasing some intriguing collaborations, including a song with Detroit wildman Danny Brown.

Despite their massive success on the worldwide festival circuit within the past few years, Run the Jewels are staying true to the group’s DIY roots with the rollout of RTJ3, opting to self-release the record and continuing to offer fans a free digital download of the LP, no strings attached.

Thankfully, RTJ3 appears to have stayed true to the format that won the duo so many fans in the first place: effortless mic-passing, bar-trading lyricism yoked to huge, ominous beats from El-P and frequent co-producers Little Shalimar and Wilder Zoby. RTJ have a knack for getting great guest verses out of unexpected collaborations as well, so seeing names like Brown, TV On the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe, and space-funk saxophonist Kamasi Washington tapped for features is especially thrilling.

Killer Mike and El-P will blast through the Myth Nightclub in February, just in time for your 10,000th spin of the new album.

RTJ3 Tracklist:

1. Down (feat. Joi Gilliam)
2. Talk To Me
3. Legend Has It
4. Call Ticketron
5. Hey Kids (Bumaye) (feat. Danny Brown)
6. Stay Gold
7. Don’t Get Captured
8. Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) (feat. Tunde Adebimpe)
9. 2100 (feat. BOOTS)
10. Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) (feat. Trina)
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Oh Mama
13. Thursday in the Danger Room (feat. Kamasi Washington)
14. Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: